Digital Repository @ WTS
A digital archive of Western Theological Seminary's history.
Cook Library
Western Theological Seminary
101 E 13th St
Holland, MI 49423
616.392.8555
Purchase a Book for
Be certain you select "Wish List Acquisitions' Gift Registry Address"
Font Size
Search Box - English
Online Writing Resources
Writing Help at WTS
The WTS writing center offer one-on-one writing support for course papers, theses and dissertation chapters, general writing development, research writing APA resources and tutorials, other study skills
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
"The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects."
APA Resources in the Library:
The Concise APA Handbook by
"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Call Number: 808.06615 (INTERNET)ISBN: 9781648021831Publication Date: 2021-02-01
General Writing Handbooks
The Elements of Style by Call Number: R 808 S927 2000ISBN: 9780205309023Classic work on improving your writing
Psychology Writing & Research Handbooks
Research Methods in Psychology by Call Number: 001.42 (INTERNET)Publication Date: 2019This fourth edition (published in 2019) was co-authored by Rajiv S. Jhangiani (Kwantlen Polytechnic University), Carrie Cuttler (Washington State University), and Dana C. Leighton (Texas A&M University--Texarkana) and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Revisions throughout the current edition include changing the chapter and section numbering system to better accommodate adaptions that remove or reorder chapters; continued reversion from the Canadian edition; general grammatical edits; replacement of "he/she" to "they" and "his/her" to "their"; removal or update of dead links; embedded videos that were not embedded; moved key takeaways and exercises from the end of each chapter section to the end of each chapter; a new cover design.
The Psychology Research Handbook by
From the Foreword: "This volume has the potential to spark a lifelong love affair with the psychology research process. Of special value are a dozen chapters on topics typically missing from other texts, including cross-cultural research, dealing with journal editors and reviewers, conducting meta-analyses, and using archival data sets. In my opinion, this is the book of choice for introducing the psychology research process to students and research assistants. . . . Although this volume was developed for students, experienced researchers would find this volume to be a useful refresher course, capable of re-igniting their own initial delight with the inquiry process." --Anthony J. Marsella, Atlanta, Georgia The book that established itself as a standard text and reference work for students seeking to master research methods and procedures in psychology has been updated and revised in this new edition! The Second Edition of The Psychology Research Handbook: A Guide for Graduate Students and Research Assistants once again offers a comprehensive guide for understanding and conquering the entire research process. Editors Frederick T. L. Leong and James T. Austin have assembled a distinguished group of expert researchers who share skill sets accumulated as a result of years of practical exposure to the design, development, implementation, and documentation of research in psychology. The chapters in this volume follow the sequential flow of the research process--from research planning and design to data collection and analysis to results writing. New to the Second Edition: Provides six new chapters that cover research scripts, statistical power, multilevel analysis, computational modeling, program evaluation, and scale and test development Addresses the effects of technology in each chapter to integrate the importance of the Internet and related technology in that particular domain Includes Student Exercises to supplement the Recommended Readings and Reference lists at the end of each chapter The Psychology Research Handbook is the ideal textbook for graduate students studying advanced research methods in courses such as Research Methods in Psychology, Advanced Methods, Experimental Methods, Research Design and Methodology, Research Practicum, and Quantitative Research Design and Analysis in Psychology. It is also the perfect resource for research professionals as well as for individual research assistants in the midst of research projects.
Call Number: 150.72 (INTERNET)ISBN: 9781452209050Publication Date: 2005-01-01
