Clinical Mental Health Counseling / Background Information

This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly and efficiently update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam.

Psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students need complete and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology four-volume set has been the reference of choice for almost three decades. This indispensable resource includes much new material. Is the first stop for comprehensive, accurate, accessible, and up to date information on all the subfields of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and neuroscience Completely updated, expanded, and reorganized for easy searching Provides complete, up-to-date, and authoritative coverage of every major area of psychology Experienced editors maintain the highest standards by reviewing every entry themselves and relying on specialty experts for consultation only Includes over 2,300 pages, 1,500 entries, copious cross references, citation references, and selected reading recommendations Separate biographical section provides quick reference to contemporary scholars and practitioners of note Designed with reference features recommended by librarians for easy print and online navigation 4 Volumes http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9780470479216

This comprehensive handbook provides counselors in training, counselor educators, and professional counselors with the latest information on major contemporary issues impacting the field. The design of the book is both conceptual and practical, reflecting current trends and issues from the perspective of expert counselor educators, and provides an up-to-date discussion of the importance of multicultural awareness and skills. The book is split into helpful sections covering a range of areas including social and cultural diversity, neuroscience, risk prevention in counseling, writing and publishing research, and career development. Grounded in contemporary research and aligned with the 2016 CACREP core content areas, the Handbook of Counseling and Counselor Education is an indispensable resource for both graduate-level trainees and professional counselors alike.

Counseling Psychology, one of the original specialties recognized in the profession of psychology, centers on and promotes clients' personal strengths during times of developmental transition or personal challenge and crisis. This tradition has led the discipline to excellence in areas such as improving vocational decision making and understanding client response during counseling. More recently, this tradition has been applied in new and exciting areas, such as understanding the role of multicultural factors among persons and society, responding to crises in life such as health threats and disasters, and enhancement of social justice in systems and communities. The Oxford Handbook of Counseling Psychology comprises chapters, all written by expert contributors, in four sections: foundations of the specialty; contextual variables such as ethnicity and social class; applications across individual, couple, family and group populations; and intersections of the specialty with new targets of client or context. Each chapter reviews the history of research, theory and application; analyzes current directions, and sets an agenda for the close future, again in theory, research and application. The handbook is a comprehensive and well written survey of many of psychology's domains of growing interest to students, professionals, and the public.

Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

This theory-focused casebook provides the reader with an overview of multiple counseling theories and utilizes specific cases representing a variety of clients to demonstrate the integration of theory in clinical counseling and social work practice. Through the use of dynamic cases, the reader is shown how theory informs day-to-day practice.  Each theoretical case study includes a section on cultural considerations and discussion questions: Object Relations Theory: The Case of Elyse Self Psychology Theory: The Case of Evan Person-Centered Therapy: The Case of Tommy Solution-Focused Brief Therapy: The Case of Jim Relational Cultural Theory: The Case of Monica Systems Theory: The Case of Esperanza Experiential Therapy: The Case of Sam Discovering Theory in Clinical Practice: A Casebook for Clinical Counseling and Social Work Practice is an essential text for instructors to teach the development of a theoretical foundation that easily integrates into core topics of relevance for graduate students in social work, counseling, psychology, marriage and family therapy, and human behavior who intend to work with a diverse set of client populations. The book also will be a great asset to early-career practitioners and clinical supervision participants who are continuing to build a professional working template of skills in both theory and practice as they conceptualize patient problems and develop treatment plans.

Introduction to Clinical Mental Health Counseling presents a broad overview of the field of clinical mental health and provides students with the knowledge and skills to successfully put theory into practice in real-world settings. Drawing from their experience as clinicians, authors Joshua C. Watson and Michael K. Schmit cover the foundations of clinical mental health counseling along with current issues, trends, and population-specific considerations. The text introduces students to emerging paradigms in the field such as mindfulness, behavioral medicine, neuroscience, recovery-oriented care, provider care, person-centered treatment planning, and holistic wellness, while emphasizing the importance of selecting evidence-based practices appropriate for specific clients, issues, and settings. Aligned with 2016 CACREP Standards and offering practical activities and case examples, the text will prepare future counselors for the realities of clinical practice.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family and Couples Counseling is a new, all-encompassing, landmark work for researchers seeking to broaden their knowledge of this vast and diffuse field.   Marriage and family counseling programs are established at institutions worldwide, yet there is no current work focused specifically on family therapy. While other works have discussed various methodologies, cases, niche aspects of the field and some broader views of counseling in general, this authoritative Encyclopedia provides readers with a fully comprehensive and accessible reference to aid in understanding the full scope and diversity of theories, approaches and techniques and how they address various life events within the unique dynamics of families, couples and related interpersonal relationships.   Key topics include: Assessment Communication Coping Diversity Interventions and Techniques Life Events/Transitions Sexuality Work/Life Issues, and more     Key features include: More than 500 signed articles written by key figures in the field span four comprehensive volumes Front matter includes a Reader's Guide that groups related entries thematically Back matter includes  a Chronology on the development of the field, a Resource Guide to key associations, websites, journals, and classic publications, a full Bibliography and a detailed Index All entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross References to related entries to aid the reader in their research journey  

"For the clients who see us in counseling . . . theological purity will make little difference if we do not practice with ethical integrity." Randolph K. Sanders, from chapter one The work of psychotherapy and counseling is full of ethical challenges and dilemmas. Responding to these situations with wisdom is critical, not only for the professional?s credibility, but also for good therapeutic relationships and positive treatment outcomes. Since its first publication, Christian Counseling Ethics has become a standard reference work for Christian psychologists, counselors and pastors and a key text at Christian universities and seminaries. This thoroughly revised edition retains core material on counseling ethics that has made it so valuable in a variety of settings. Now fully updated, it weighs and assesses new and emerging ethical issues in the field. For example, the current volume explores ethical issues involved in: multiple relationships confidentiality documentation therapist competence and character addressing spiritual and value issues in therapy teletherapy individual and couples therapy counseling with minors psychological first aid after disasters counseling crossculturally In addition, the book considers dilemmas Christian therapists face in specific settings such as: church-based counseling centers government and military institutions missions organizations college counseling centers Psychologist Randolph Sanders has assembled a distinguished team of clinicians and academicians to address the issues. They include W. Brad Johnson, Alan Tjeltveit, Everett Worthington, Sally Schwer Canning, Siang-Yang Tan, Tamara Anderson, Stanton Jones, Jennifer Ripley, Angela Sabates, Mark Yarhouse, Richard Butman and Cynthia Eriksson. Christian Association for Psychological Studies (CAPS) Books explore how Christianity relates to mental health and behavioral sciences including psychology, counseling, social work, and marriage and family therapy in order to equip Christian clinicians to support the well-being of their clients.

This edited volume comprehensively examines the critical ethical challenges that arise in the practice of counselling and psychotherapy. It translates philosophical positions and professional ethical guidelines in a way that can be applied to practice. The various chapters focus on specific ethical issues that emerge in working with a range of different client groups; for example, children, couples and families. While some ethical imperatives are common across the board, others could be more closely associated with certain client groups. Practitioners might experience uncertainty in working with vulnerable client groups; for example, lesbian/gay/transgender/intersex (LGBT) clients, or persons who report intimate partner violence. Several chapters raise questions, provide information and additional resources to enhance ethically informed practice. Chapter contributions also highlight the ethical dilemmas that might be unique to certain contexts; for example, private practice, schools and consultation-liaison settings. This volume also addresses contemporary and relatively less understood playing fields like 'digital ethics' related to therapist-client interface in the internet space and the navigation of ethical dilemmas in the newly emerging field of employee assistance programmes which address mental health needs in the corporate sector.   Written by experienced practitioners of psychotherapy, and culturally contextualized, this is a valuable resource for academics and practitioners interested in psychotherapy and counselling.