Counseling Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries / Home

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.

The Counseling Dictionary is an excellent resource that will serve both experienced and novice counselors for years to come.It features the most up-to-date and comprehensive reference work in the field of counseling, and includes 400 new terms, an expanded appendix of prominent names in the field of counseling, an up-to-date brief history of the counseling profession, and a new appendix featuring nationally prominent helping associations and organizations. Terms in the dictionary are cross-referenced and written in a concise and easy to understand way.

"With its diversity throughout including almost 40 authors from different therapeutic modalities, continents and professional fields the book indeed is both an 'invitation and challenge' and a means 'to aid transcultural therapists in conducting their work in a sensitive and informed manner'. It brings to mind a colourful and well stocked market comprising two parts. The first provides nourishing food for practitioners such as contributions to theory, use of interpreters, training, supervision, research and case studies. The second offers an outstanding exploration of the impact of different cultural backgrounds orchestrated by the editor, whose compilation from a UK perspective might be a useful example for other cultural and language areas. The involved reader will be delighted to have this inspiring handbook to hand." Gerhard Stumm, Ph.D., psychotherapy trainer, Vienna "Therapists pride themselves on cherishing the uniqueness of every client. This book offers a powerful challenge for it plainly demonstrates that a commitment to honouring uniqueness cannot be divorced from a sensitivity to the cultural, racial, spiritual and ethnic differences that clients present in an increasingly multicultural society. Here is an impressive compendium that illuminates the many clinical, training, relational and supervisory issues involved together with the widest range of contributions from diverse cultures that I have ever encountered in one volume. Colin Lago is to be congratulated on editing an invaluable resource which is both stimulating and disturbing in its implications." Brian Thorne, Emeritus Professor of Counselling, University of East Anglia and Co-founder of The Norwich Centre This fascinating book examines recent critical thinking and contemporary research findings in the field of transcultural counselling and psychotherapy. It also explores the effects of different cultural heritages upon potential clients and therapists. The first part of the book reflects the curriculum, context and content of counselling and psychotherapy training courses, with regards to sensitivity to diversity. It covers key issues such as: Implications of identity development for therapeutic work Ethnic matching of clients and therapists Working with interpreters and bi-cultural workers Overcoming racism, discrimination and oppression within the counselling process An overview of current research within this field In the second part, the authors give personal accounts that explore the impact of cultural heritage on people who have moved from their countries of origin to 'Western' countries,, such as the UK or the USA. The Handbook of Transcultural Counselling and Psychotherapy will be of immense value to a wide range of readers, including counselling and therapy practitioners, supervisors, trainees, agency managers and colleagues in other therapy-related services. Contributors: Aileen Alleyne, Alison Barty, Anita Chakraborty, Divine Charura, Riccardo Draghi-Lorenz, Patricia Eschoe, Farkhondeh Farsimadan, Tiane Corso Graziottin, Delroy Hall, Fiona Hall, Addila Khan, Indu Khurana, Colin Lago, Courtland C. Lee, Yair Maman, Susan McGinnis, Isha Mckenzie-Mavinga, Roy Moodley, Renate Motschnig, Sheila Mudadi-Billings, GoEun Na, Seamus Nash, Bernie Neville, Yuko Nippoda, Ladislav Nykl, Simon du Plock, Judy Ryde, Antony Sigalas, Harbrinder Dhillon Stevens, Patsy Sutherland, Rachel Tribe, Andrea Uphoff, Valerie Watson, Tony Wright, Jin Wu and Neelam Zahid.

The classic edition of this groundbreaking book includes a new preface from the authors discussing developments in the field since the handbook's initial publication. Chapters provide an overview of best principles and best practices in counseling supervision process, one that is firmly rooted in the recent explosion of empirical research in this field. Sponsored by the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES), the book is targeted primarily at master's-level practitioners who want practical, how-to applications of the research literature rather than a comprehensive review of the supervision literature. It's also a useful supplement for more academic texts used for doctoral-level instruction in counseling supervision.

Online Counseling gives practical insight into how professionals can translate and extend their practice to the electronic online medium. The volume provides an overview of current research on the use and effectiveness of counseling online and data on the idiosyncrasies of online behavior and communication. The practical aspects of and skill sets required for counseling online are discussed at length, as are technological, ethical, legal and multicultural issues, treatment strategies, and testing and assessment.- Foreword by Morgan Sammons and Patrick DeLeon, past president of the American Psychological Association- The first comprehensive textbook designed to give clinicians and mental health students everything they need to understand and start providing mental health services via the Internet- Each chapter includes study questions and key terms, making it ideal for use in graduate or continuing education settings- Includes clear and comprehensive chapters on research and technology related to online counseling- Contributors include past, present, and elected presidents of the International Society for Mental Health Online (ISMHO), the Inernet's leading resource for professionals interested in online counseling and other methods of delivering mental health services via the Internet

With more questions and answers than any other edition, the Encyclopedia of Counseling,Fourth Edition,is stillthe only book you need to pass the NCE, CPCE, and other counseling exams. Every chapter has new and updated material and is still written in Dr. Rosenthal's lively, user-friendly style counselors know and love. The book's new and improved coverage incorporates a range of vital topics, including social media, group work in career counseling, private practice and nonprofit work, addictions, neurocounseling, research trends, the DSM-5, the new ACA and NBCC codes of ethics, and much, much more.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy is a two-volume source that traces theory and examines the beginnings of counseling and psychotherapy all the way to current trends and movements. This reference work draws together a team of international scholars that examine the global landscape of all the key counseling and psychotherapy theories and the theorists behind them while presenting them in context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. This is a quick, one-stop source that gives the reader the "who, what, where, how, and why" of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory. From historical context in which the theories were developed to the theoretical underpinnings which drive the theories, this reference encyclopedia has detailed and relevant information for all individuals interested in this subject matter. Features & Benefits: Approximately 335 signed entries fill two volumes available in a choice of print or electronic formats. Back matter includes a Chronology of theory within the field of counseling to help students put individual theories within a broader context. A Master Bibliography and a Resource Guide to key books, journals, and organizations guide students to further resources beyond the encyclopedia. The Reader's Guide, a detailed Index and the Cross References combine for effective search-and-browse in the e-version and helps students take the next steps in their research journeys. This reference encyclopedia serves as an excellent source for any individual interested in the roots of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory. It is ideal for the public and professionals, as well as for students in counselor education programs especially those individuals who are pursuing a Masters level degree.  

This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly and efficiently update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam.

CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 2008 Best Reference, Library Journal "The scope, depth, breadth, currency, arrangement, and authority of this work reflect the thorough, in-depth approach of the entire editorial and publishing team . . . Advancing current thought and models in the field, this work provides an unparalleled attempt to approach this important subject from many perspectives. Moreover, each volume has a list of entries, a reader′s guide, and information about the authors and the contributors. The reader′s guide incorporates substantive topics, e.g. assessment, testing and research methods, biographies, coping . . . this is an essential addition to graduate and research collections." --Library Journal Professional counseling involves helping clients, individually or in groups, or as couples and families, deal with various career, vocational, educational, and emotional problems. Whether performed by psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, psychiatric nurses, or counselors, thousands of professionals throughout the United States, as well as the world, are providing counseling services to fellow human beings to help them address and resolve the various problems of living that exceed their coping resources and social support. The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling. The four volumes of this Encyclopedia are flexibly designed so they can be use together as a set or separately by volume, depending on the need of the user. Key Features · Reviews different types of counselors, their different professional identities, and their different models of graduate education · Examines important historical developments that have shaped the evolution of the counseling profession into its current form · Provides a comprehensive compilation of information about established and emerging topics in mental health and personal/emotional counseling · Addresses problems in personal/emotional counseling ranging from concerns about normal developmental processes and common life transitions to debilitating problems of great severity · Discusses the major social, scientific, and professional forces that have shaped the evolution of cross-cultural counseling and psychotherapy · Offers complete information on conventional and up-and-coming areas of interest in career counseling Key Themes · Assessment, Testing, and Research Methods · Biographies · Coping · Counseling--General · Economic/Work Issues · Human Development and Life Transitions · Legal and Ethical Issues · Organizations · Physical and Mental Health · Professional Development and Standards · Psychosocial Traits and Behavior · Society, Race/Ethnicity, and Culture · Subdisciplines · Theories · Therapies, Techniques, and Interventions This ultimate resource is designed for laypeople who are interested in learning about the science and practice of counseling. It is also a useful source for undergraduate and graduate students and professionals from other specialties to learn about counseling in all its forms and manifestations.

Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.