Ethics of Clinical Mental Health Counseling / Home

An engaging way to cover ethical choices in counseling settings This guide will take readers on a wide-ranging tour of ethics--covering both the theoretical and practical aspects of providing sound, ethical care. In addition to invaluable information, this book provides access to chapter objectives, candid case studies, stories from both students and counselors, questions for reflection, and student discussion activities. Coverage goes beyond a laundry-list approach to rules of conduct, and plumbs the philosophical roots embedded in today's professional codes. Engaging case studies explore how ethical rules and principles apply in various real-world settings and specialties. After covering ethical philosophies, codes, and standards, Becoming an Ethical Helping Professional further discusses: The helping relationship from beginning to end Confidentiality and trust Boundaries, roles, and limits Assessment: peering through the right lens Research, efficacy, and competence John & Rita Sommers-Flanagan have written an exceptional resource that considers both the process and the content of making ethical choices as a counselor or psychotherapist.

This exciting new edition provides an overview of the main professional, ethical and research issues that are required knowledge for counsellors, therapists, psychologists and psychiatrists engaging in therapeutic or clinical work. These issues form part of the curriculum and practice requirements of all the major counselling, psychotherapy, psychology and psychiatry professional organisations (including BACP, BPS, HCPC, RCP, UKCP, IACP, IPS and IAHIP). Divided in six clearly defined sections, this book will provide a comprehensive overview of all the major professional practice and ethical issues in one edited volume. The authors are well-known experts in their fields and their work has been brought together with clarity and helpful features, including reflective questions and case vignettes. This new edition has also been updated to include content on social justice, community psychology and professional guidelines, reflecting the latest academic research and clinical developments. This book is unique in the breadth of issues covered and its focus on therapeutic practice. It will be of interest to practitioners and students of psychotherapy, counselling and psychiatry.

Completely revised and updated to reflect the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and current ethics codes in psychology, social work, and marriage andfamily therapy. This unparalleled text guides helping professionals in the use of ethical decision-making processes as the foundation for ethicalapproaches to counseling and psychotherapy. The book focuses on ethical and legal challenges and standards across multiple professions emphasizingcounseling. It not only identifies relevant ethical issues in clinical mental health, rehabilitation, group, school, addictions, and career counseling, italso addresses couple and family therapy, clinical supervision, and forensics. The text illuminates the particular application of ethical standards withineach specialty. The book features five new chapters that clearly define how ethical standards are interpreted and applied: Privacy, Confidentiality, and PrivilegedCommunication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency. Under the umbrella of eachbroad topic, the particular nuances of ethical standards within each specialty are analyzed to facilitate comparison across all specialties and settings.The text also addresses current issues in office and administrative practices, technology, and forensic practice that are crucial to school, clinical, andprivate practice settings. Compelling case studies illustrate the connection between ethical decision-making models and ethical practice. Learningobjectives, a comprehensive review of scholarly literature, and a robust ancillary package for educators contribute to the fourth edition' s value for usein upper-level undergraduate and graduate classrooms. New to the Fourth Edition: Comprehensive reorganization and reconceptualization of content Reflects new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Includes five new chapters on Privacy, Confidentiality, and Privileged Communication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency Emphasizes specialty practice organized by professional standards Facilitates comparison of standards across disciplines Addresses new issues in office, administrative, technology, and forensic practice Key Features: Delivers an unequaled overview of ethical decision making in counseling and psychotherapy Defines how ethical standards are interpreted and applied in specialty practice Describes how to avoid, address, and solve serious ethical and legal dilemmas Includes learning objectives, case studies, and scholarly literature reviews Offers robust ancillary package with Instructor' s Manual, Test Bank, and PowerPoint Slides

Useful for all counselors, clinicians and counselors-in-training, the 7th edition of this fully updated text provides a detailed examination of the newly revised ACA Code of Ethics. Find out what is new in the 2014 Code and which sections have undergone the most significant revision to ensure your understanding of and compliance with the most current ethical standards in the field.

The second edition of this highly practical and easily understood handbook provides counselors and students with the means to quickly apply the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics to practice and to professional roles and activities. It contains on-point recommendations for each standard of the Code, a decision-making model, and a listing of ethics resources. Part I presents each section of the Code, along with a brief commentary that emphasizes its most essential elements, common ethical dilemmas and problems relevant to that section, and specific strategies for risk prevention and positive practice. Part II contains ethical guidance sections focused on areas that counselors often encounter in their work, including culture and diversity, confidentiality and exceptions to confidentiality, counseling suicidal clients, multiple relation­ships in counseling, competence, supervision, managed care, termination and abandonment, and how to respond to an ethics complaint or malpractice suit. New to this edition is a section titled "Integrating Technology into Counseling Practice."  *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com.  *To request print copies, please visit the ACA website. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to publications@counseling.org

How can philosophy guide our understanding of and approach to counseling ethics and techniques? Moving beyond the standard review of ethical issues and basic problem solving, this highly engaging new text for counseling professionals features innovative, experiential activities and case studies that promote in-depth thinking about the ethical, moral, and legal issues often confronted by counseling professionals. The book is designed to help counselors develop an appreciation for and confidence in their preferred set of philosophical ethics and become ethically autonomous professionals. To this end, it examines a full range of philosophical approaches to ethics, such as the well-known concepts of ethics codes and laws, as well as the less familiar ideas of existential phenomenology, care ethics, and virtues. Featuring contributions from leading counselor educators and practitioners representing a wide range of expertise in counseling specialties and ethical practice, this text presents ethical practice from a positive, proactive point of view rather than from a reactive or fear-based stance. It provides a solid foundation in ethical decision making, critical thinking, and best practices that will enable counseling professionals to navigate the maze of ethical codes and standards of care, while confidently practicing in a consistently ethical manner. The accompanying Instructorís Manual offers step-by-step guidance on how to facilitate classroom activities and case study discussions, as well as a sample syllabus and a selection of quiz and essay questions to enhance studentsí understanding of each chapter. The text is congruent with relevant ethical codes and CACREP curriculum standards. Key Features: Provides activity-based learning regarding all the ethical standards and legal issues counselors will face Promotes in-depth critical thinking and a proactive, postitive approach to ethical and moral dilemmas Includes examples across all counseling settings and specialties Offers students multiple case examples that make ethical issues realistic and engaging Features Instructorís Manual offering sample syllabus and resources for course activities

The ethics book no psychology student or professional should be without Thoroughly updated and expanded to include recent research findings, landmark legal decisions, the Hoffman Investigation Report, and changes in the ethical guidelines of the American Psychological Association and the Canadian Psychological Association, the new 5th edition of Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling covers the latest developments in ethical thinking, standards, and practice. You'll learn how to strengthen your ethical awareness, judgement, and decision-making. Distinguished Emeritus Professor Don Meichenbaum described the 5th edition as 'a MUST READ book for both beginning and seasoned clinicians' and Professor David H. Barlow wrote, 'A stunningly good book. . . . If there is only one book you buy on ethics, this is the one.' Covers the many changes and challenges brought about by new technology, EHRs, videoconferencing, and texting, as well as practicing across state and provincial borders Discusses moral distress and moral courage Includes 5 chapters on different aspects of critical thinking about ethical challenges, including a chapter on 'Ethics Placebos, Cons, and Creative Cheating: A User's Guide' Deals with complex issue of culture, race, religion, sexual identity, sexual orientation, and politics Provides steps to strengthen ethics in organizations Offers guidance on responding to ethics, licensing, and malpractice complaints--not to imply that you'll need to after reading this book! Keeps the focus on practical, creative approaches to the responsibilities, challenges, and opportunities encountered by therapists and counselors in their work.

Many counselors learn about ethics in graduate school by applying formal, step-by-step ethical decision-making models that require counselors to be aware of their values and refrain from imposing personal values that might harm clients. However, in the real world, counselors often make split-second ethical decisions based upon personal values. Values and Ethics in Counseling illustrates the ways in which ethical decisions are values--but more than that, it guides counselors through the process of examining their own values and analyzing how these values impact ethical decision making. Each chapter presents ethical decision making as what it is: a very personal, values-laden process, one that is most effectively illustrated through the real-life stories of counselors at various stages of professional development--from interns to seasoned clinicians--who made value-based decisions. Each story is followed by commentary from the author as well as analysis from the editors to contextualize the material and encourage reflection.