Digital Repository @ WTS
A digital archive of Western Theological Seminary's history.
Purchase a Book for
Be certain you select "Wish List Acquisitions' Gift Registry Address"
Font Size
Search Box - English
Consumer Resources
- WHO - Advice for the Public
Provides basic prevention measures for the public. Includes related related information images for social media posting. - Mayo Clinic - Novel coronavirus: What is it and how can I protect myself?
Brief information about spreading of the disease and precautions to take; provided by Mayo Clinic. Also take a look at Mayo Clinic's coronavirus page for more information: Mayo Clinic - Coronavirus
Coronavirus Government Resources
- Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) The Food and Drug Administration is a federal agency of the United States Department of Health and Human Services.
- National Institutes of Health (NIH) The national Institutes of Health's Coronavirus Disease 2019 Situation Summary page. An agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
Resources for Shifting Courses to Online (ATLA)
- Bringing Your Courses OnlineInformation on strategies, equity and accessibility issues, and list of resources compiled by the Modern Language Association and posted on Humanities Commons
- Get Resourceful for REL #COVID19Suggestions and ideas for teaching religious studies by Richard Newton, PhD, at the University of Alabama from his website Sowing the Seed: Fruitful Conversations in Religion, Culture, and Teaching
- Resources for Online LearningResources from the Wabash Center Resource Collection, links to resources at other religion and theology schools
- Teaching Remotely in Times of NeedPresentation slides from Torrey Trust, PhD, at the University of Massachusetts Amherst
- Tips for Teaching OnlineTips and resources compiled by the AAR Teaching and Learning Committee
COVID-19 Resources Available at WTS
- COVID-19 in PrimoWestern Theological Seminary users, sign in to Primo to find all available resources.
- EBSCOhost Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
- EBSCOhost Health Source Nursing Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
- Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
Available Books
Vulnerable : The Law, Policy and Ethics of COVID-19 by
The novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2, which causes the disease known as COVID-19, has infected people in 212 countries so far and on every continent except Antarctica. Vast changes to our home lives, social interactions, government functioning and relations between countries have swept the world in a few months and are difficult to hold in one's mind at one time. That is why a collaborative effort such as this edited, multidisciplinary collection is needed. This book confronts the vulnerabilities and interconnectedness made visible by the pandemic and its consequences, along with the legal, ethical and policy responses. These include vulnerabilities for people who have been harmed or will be harmed by the virus directly and those harmed by measures taken to slow its relentless march; vulnerabilities exposed in our institutions, governance and legal structures; and vulnerabilities in other countries and at the global level where persistent injustices harm us all. Hopefully, COVID-19 will forces us to deeply reflect on how we govern and our policy priorities; to focus preparedness, precaution, and recovery to include all, not just some. Published in English with some chapters in French.
ISBN: 9780776636405Publication Date: 2020-07-14
Poverty and the impact of COVID-19 : the blue-marble health approach by
While COVID-19 has ravaged global economies and changed the way of life for us all, the disease has a disproportionately devastating impact on poorer communities. For the millions without a job because of community shut downs, decisions about basic necessities and the fear of healthcare costs for those diagnosed with the novel coronavirus become critical. In these uncertain times, international diplomacy, solidarity, and cooperation are vital. Dr. Peter Hotez, dean of the National School of Tropical Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine, provides an essential look at the global issue of health and poverty through the lens of COVID-19. He introduces a new global paradigm known as 'blue marble health,' through which he asserts that poor people living in wealthy countries account for most of the world's poverty-related illness. He explores the current state of neglected diseases in both China and the United States. By crafting public policy and relying on global partnerships to control or eliminate some of the world's worst poverty-related illnesses, Hotez believes, it is possible to eliminate life-threatening disease while at the same time creating unprecedented opportunities for science and diplomacy. Urgent, timely, and compassionate, this excerpted edition of Hotez's wide-sweeping Blue Marble Health serves as a timely guide for anyone committed to helping the millions of people who are facing the visceral threats of both poverty and COVID-19.
ISBN: 9781421440507Publication Date: 2020
Digital Contact Tracing for Pandemic Response by
As public health professionals around the world work tirelessly to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, it is clear that traditional methods of contact tracing need to be augmented in order to help address a public health crisis of unprecedented scope. Innovators worldwide are racing to develop and implement novel public-facing technology solutions, including digital contact tracing technology. These technological products may aid public health surveillance and containment strategies for this pandemic and become part of the larger toolbox for future infectious outbreak prevention and control. As technology evolves in an effort to meet our current moment, Johns Hopkins Project on Ethics and Governance of Digital Contact Tracing Technologies--a rapid research and expert consensus group effort led by Dr. Jeffrey P. Kahn of the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics in collaboration with the university's Center for Health Security--carried out an in-depth analysis of the technology and the issues it raises. Drawing on this analysis, they produced a report that includes detailed recommendations for technology companies, policymakers, institutions, employers, and the public. The project brings together perspectives from bioethics, health security, public health, technology development, engineering, public policy, and law to wrestle with the complex interactions of the many facets of the technology and its applications. This team of experts from Johns Hopkins University and other world-renowned institutions has crafted clear and detailed guidelines to help manage the creation, implementation, and application of digital contact tracing. Digital Contact Tracing for Pandemic Response is the essential resource for this fast-moving crisis. Contributors: Joseph Ali, JD; Anne Barnhill, PhD; Anita Cicero, JD; Katelyn Esmonde, PhD; Amelia Hood, MA; Brian Hutler, Phd, JD; Jeffrey P. Kahn, PhD, MPH; Alan Regenberg, MBE; Crystal Watson, DrPH, MPH; Matthew Watson; Robert Califf, MD, MACC; Ruth Faden, PhD, MPH; Divya Hosangadi, MSPH; Nancy Kass, ScD; Alain Labrique, PhD, MHS, MS; Deven McGraw, JD, MPH, LLM; Michelle Mello, JD, PhD; Michael Parker, BEd (Hons), MA, PhD; Stephen Ruckman, JD, MSc, MAR; Lainie Rutkow, JD, MPH, PhD; Josh Sharfstein, MD; Jeremy Sugarman, MD, MPH, MA; Eric Toner, MD; Mar Trotochaud, MSPH; Effy Vayena, PhD; Tal Zarsky, JSD, LLM, LLB
ISBN: 9781421440613Publication Date: 2020-05-29
A Christian Reponse to Covid 19 by
The COVID-19 crisis suddenly changed everything in the world, including the celebration of the Eucharist. This small volume addresses existential questions concerning Christians amid the pervasive threat of COVID-19. Each author shares his personal experience during the crisis while reflecting from a Christian perspective within his personal responsibility each with a different focus. All four see meaning in the crisis as Pope Francis expresses in the foreword: it has yet again made us aware of our transience, frailty, and mortality. The crisis he says invites us to derive new hope, courage, energy, and happiness from the sources of life and faith, and to stand by those suffering hardship and difficulty. The writings in A Christian Response to COVID-19 speak to the decisions Christians are making in these days to reconcile our lives more fully with God, as we seek solidarity in our common vulnerability as human beings and place our lives into the service of other people.
Call Number: 234.25 C555ISBN: 9780809155590Publication Date: 2020-11-04
Additional Resources
- COVID-19 Resources for the Elderly and Families Living through a pandemic presents unprecedented challenges for people of all ages, from children to the elderly. Although kids have shown to be the most resilient as far as physical risks from COVID-19, this doesn’t mean that there aren’t concerns for their physical and emotional well-being. And adults and the elderly can face significant health risks from the virus, especially if there are other health problems already present.
- EBSCO COVID-19 PortalThis Information Portal has been created to support the immediate need for trusted information. It is comprised of news feeds and resources from trusted bodies of authority and the index is in its infancy. Your contributions are needed. This portal will continue to evolve over the days and weeks to come, along with our emerging needs as a professional community. The goal: to provide relevant and reliable information when, where, and how people need it.
- Maintaining Your Health During the COVID-19 Pandemic The COVID-19 pandemic has presented people around the world with both physical and mental health challenges. Staying strong and healthy both physically and emotionally while social distancing can be difficult. If circumstances force you to quarantine, look for ways to stay connected virtually with others even if you can’t visit with people outside of your household in person. Coping with stress in positive ways is important to your overall health. It’s also beneficial to guard your physical health by watching your diet and getting daily exercise. Don’t let the pandemic have a negative impact on your well-being. Make it a goal to thrive even when worldwide events present challenges.
- Wolters Kluwer - Ovid - Coronavirus Ovid, a part of the Wolters Kluwer group of companies, provides access to online bibliographic databases, academic journals, and other products.
