Digital Repository @ WTS
A digital archive of Western Theological Seminary's history.
Cook Library
Western Theological Seminary
101 E 13th St
Holland, MI 49423
616.392.8555
Purchase a Book for
Be certain you select "Wish List Acquisitions' Gift Registry Address"
Search Box - English
Journal Article Databases
- Atla Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. The fact that many publishers solicit the inclusion of their journals in ATLA RDB is indicative of the stature it has achieved in the community of religion scholars.
- AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) for Alum This link opens in a new window
Full Text. Covers Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Dissertations
- OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window EBSCO Open Dissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Professional: Open This link opens in a new window PDQT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free. Please note the content is mostly North American
- Dissertations ExpressFind and purchase Dissertations and Theses from Proquest.
Electronic Book Collections
- Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window .Academic Complete features a growing selection of more than 140,000 e-books in all academic subject areas with unlimited, multi-user access.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window .Over 20,000 titles on all subjects, formerly known as NetLibrary. eBook Collection includes titles in religion/theology such as many of the commentaries from Westminster John Knox and the Believers Church Bible Commentary series from Herald Press.
- Oxford Academic Books This link opens in a new window The complete texts of the prestigious Oxford Handbooks in Religion now available online. Extensive links make the online Handbooks easy to navigate making these valuable reference resources more easily discoverable, accessible and searchable.
- Atla Ebook Lending Program This link opens in a new window The Theological Libraries Ebook Lending Project is a collection of Electronic Books shared by members of the American Theological Library Association. Each member library contributes purchased books to be used by users of all member libraries.
