Digital Repository @ WTS
A digital archive of Western Theological Seminary's history.
Purchase a Book for
Be certain you select "Wish List Acquisitions' Gift Registry Address"
Search Box - English
Books
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism by
Provides a comprehensive framework for understanding Buddhism as a historically compelling religion. ...Prebish, a well-known scholar of Buddhism, shows excellent judgement in his selection and treatment of entries... exceptionally valuable... --CHOICE
Call Number: R 294.303 P922ISBN: 0810826984Publication Date: 1993-06-28
The Emergence of Buddhism by
This brief survey text tells the story of Buddhism as it unfolds through the narrative of the Brahmanical cosmology from which Buddhism emerged, the stories and myths surrounding Buddha's birth, Buddha's path to enlightenment, and the eventual spread of his teachings throughout India and the world. Jacob N. Kinnard's clear telling of the tale helps students understand such complex concepts as the natural law of cause and effect (karma), the birth/life/death/rebirth cycle (samsara), the ever-changing state of suffering (dukkha), and salvation, the absence of all states (nirvana). Primary documents, illustrations, glossary and biographical sketches illuminate the extraordinary life and legacy of the man called Buddha. The text's chapters integrate key pedagogy, including introductions, study questions, textboxes, photos, maps, suggested readings, and a glossary and timeline.
Call Number: 294.3 K55ISBN: 9780800697488Publication Date: 2010-10-01
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism by Call Number: 294.309051 (INTERNET)ISBN: 9780199362387Publication Date: 2016-12-01As an incredibly diverse religious system, Buddhism is constantly changing. The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism offers a comprehensive collection of work by leading scholars in the field that tracks these changes up to the present day. Taken together, the book provides a blueprint tounderstanding Buddhism's past and uses it to explore the ways in which Buddhism has transformed in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.The volume contains 41 essays, divided into two sections. The essays in the first section examine the historical development of Buddhist traditions throughout the world. These chapters cover familiar settings like India, Japan, and Tibet as well as the less well-known countries of Vietnam, Bhutan,and the regions of Latin America, Africa, and Oceania. Focusing on changes within countries and transnationally, this section also contains chapters that focus explicitly on globalization, such as Buddhist international organizations and diasporic communities. The second section tracks therelationship between Buddhist traditions and particular themes. These chapters review Buddhist interactions with contemporary topics such as violence and peacebuilding, and ecology, as well as Buddhist influences in areas such as medicine and science.Offering coverage that is both expansive and detailed, The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism delves into some of the most debated and contested areas within Buddhist Studies today.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to East and Inner Asian Buddhism by ISBN: 1118610350Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Canadian Journal of Buddhist Studies
Journal of Global Buddhism
Websites
- BuddhaNetBuddhaNet is a not-for-profit organisation affiliated with the Buddha Dharma Education Association Inc.
- Digital Library and Museum of Buddhist StudiesNational Taiwan University
- Tibetan & Himalayan LibraryFrom website: The Tibetan and Himalayan Library (THL) is a publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions.
- Huntington Photographic Archive of Asian ArtOhio State University
- Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual LibraryKeeps track of leading information facilities in the fields of Buddhism and Buddhist studies
Journal Article Databases
- Atla Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. The fact that many publishers solicit the inclusion of their journals in ATLA RDB is indicative of the stature it has achieved in the community of religion scholars.
- AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) for Alum This link opens in a new window
Full Text. Covers Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.