Digital Repository @ WTS
A digital archive of Western Theological Seminary's history.
Cook Library
Western Theological Seminary
101 E 13th St
Holland, MI 49423
616.392.8555
Purchase a Book for
Be certain you select "Wish List Acquisitions' Gift Registry Address"
Font Size
Search Box - English
Reformed Confessions
Books
Theology made practical : new studies on John Calvin and his legacy by
In Theology Made Practical, Joel R. Beeke, David W. Hall, and Michael A. G. Haykin declare the significance of John Calvin's life and ideas"€"particularly his contributions to systematic theology, pastoral theology, and political theology"€"as well as the influence he had on others through the centuries. With focused studies related to the Trinity, predestination, the Holy Spirit, justification, preaching, missions, principles of government, welfare, and marriage, this book demonstrates how Calvin's thought has been, and still is, a dynamic wellspring of fruitfulness for numerous areas of the Christian life. More than 450 years since Calvin experienced the beatific vision, his thinking about God and His Word still possesses what our culture passionately longs for"€"true relevancy.
Call Number: 230.42 C168 T391ISBN: 9781601785367Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Retrieving doctrine : essays in Reformed theology by
In this volume Oliver Crisp offers a set of essays that analyze the significance and contribution of several great thinkers in the Reformed tradition, ranging from John Calvin and Jonathan Edwards to Karl Barth. Crisp demonstrates how these thinkers navigated pressing theological issues in their historical settings and in what ways contemporary readers can draw important insights from the tradition relevant to current discussions.
Call Number: 230.42 C932ISBN: 9780830839285Publication Date: 2011-04-05Major Themes in the Reformed Tradition by
Call Number: 230.42 M234ISBN: 0802804284Publication Date: 1992-01-01
That They May All Be One by
To mark the historic 2010 union of two Reformed bodies of churches--the World Alliance of Refored Churches and the Reformed Ecumenical council--more than twenty-five revered pastors, theologians, and ecumenists contributed essays for this volume. These writings celebrate what it means to live in unity and communion in the twenty-first century and stress the importance of ecumenism in working for mission and justice. Among the many noted contributors are Jane Dempsey Douglass, Michael Kinnamon, Samuel Kobia, Setri Nyomi, Ofelia Ortega, Gradye Parsons, and Iain Torrance.
Call Number: 266.42 T367ISBN: 9780664235727Publication Date: 2010-06-02
Historical Dictionary of the Reformed Churches by
As its name implies, the Reformed tradition grew out of the 16th century Protestant Reformation. The Reformed churches consider themselves to be the Catholic Church reformed. The movement originated in the reform efforts of Huldrych Zwingli (1484-1531) of Zurich and John Calvin (1509-1564) of Geneva. Although the Reformed movement was dependent upon many Protestant leaders, it was Calvin's tireless work as a writer, preacher, teacher, and social and ecclesiastical reformer that provided a substantial body of literature and an ethos from which the Reformed tradition grew. Today, the Reformed churches are a multicultural, multiethnic, and multinational phenomenon. Historical Dictionary of the Reformed Churches, Third Edition contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 1,000 cross-referenced entries on leaders, personalities, events, facts, movements, and beliefs of the Reformed churches. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about reformed churches.
Call Number: 284.209 (INTERNET)ISBN: 9781538130049Publication Date: 2023-10-15- On being reformed : distinctive characteristics and common misunderstandings byCall Number: 285 H587 1988ISBN: 0916466019
- The New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious KnowledgeCall Number: R 203 S296Older general theological encyclopedia from a Reformed point of view
Encyclopedia of the Reformed Faith by
More than two hundred international scholars from a variety of denominations contribute to this outstanding, one-volume reference book. Comprehensive in scope, it stresses the importance of events, persons, and theological concepts that have been significant to the Reformed tradition.
Call Number: R 284.203 E56ISBN: 0664218822Publication Date: 1992-02-01
Calvin
Ioannis Calvini Opera quae supersunt omniaCall Number: 208 C168o
The Calvin Handbook by
Research on French theologian John Calvin is flourishing around the world, and his quincentennial in 2009 has given such research even greater momentum. Designed to support and stimulate this research, The Calvin Handbook gathers contributions from internationally renowned scholars. Offering a comprehensive view of Calvin?s life, his theology, and the history of his reception, this handbook is a uniquely helpful resource on Calvin for readers of every interest level.
Call Number: 230.42 C168 C1684ISBN: 9780802862303Publication Date: 2009-08-05
The Writings of John Calvin, Expanded Edition by Call Number: 230.42 C168 G793 2008ISBN: 9780664232306
Institutes of the Christian Religion, 1536 Edition by Call Number: 230.42 C168 I59 1986ISBN: 080282319XPublication Date: 1986-10-01
The Cambridge Companion to John Calvin by Call Number: 230.42092 (INTERNET)ISBN: 0521816475Publication Date: 2004-06-17John Calvin (1509-64) stands with Martin Luther (1483-1546) as the premier theologian of the sixteenth-century Protestant Reformation. Calvin's thought spread throughout Europe to the New World and later throughout the whole world. His insights and influence continue to endure today, presenting a model of theological scholarship grounded in Scripture as well as providing nurture for Christian believers within churches across the globe. Dr Donald K. McKim gathers together an international array of major Calvin scholars to consider phases of Calvin's theological thought and influence. Historians and theologians meet to present a full picture of Calvin's contexts, the major themes in Calvin's writings, and the ways in which his thought spread and has increasing importance. Chapters serve as guides to their topics and provide further readings for additional study. This is an accessible introduction to this significant Protestant reformer and will appeal to the specialist and non-specialist alike.
The Oxford Handbook of Calvin and Calvinism by ISBN: 9780198728818Publication Date: 2021-09-28The Oxford Handbook of Calvin and Calvinism offers a comprehensive assessment of John Calvin and the tradition of Calvinism as it evolved from the sixteenth century to today. Featuring contributions from scholars who present the latest research on a pluriform religious movement that became aglobal faith. The volume focuses on key aspects of Calvin's thought and its diverse reception in Europe, the transatlantic world, Africa, South America, and Asia. Calvin's theology was from the beginning open to a wide range of interpretations and was never a static body of ideas and practices. Overthe course of his life his thought evolved and deepened while retaining unresolved tensions and questions that created a legacy that was constantly evolving in different cultural contexts. Calvinism itself is an elusive term, bringing together Christian communities that claim a shared heritage butoften possess radically distinct characters.The Handbook reveals fascinating patterns of continuity and change to demonstrate how the movement claimed the name of the Genevan reformer but was moulded by an extraordinary range of religious, intellectual and historical influences, from the Enlightenment and Darwinism to indigenous Africanbeliefs and postmodernism. In its global contexts, Calvinism has been continuously reimagined and reinterpreted. This collection throws new light on the highly dynamic and fluid nature of a deeply influential form of Christianity.
- H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies(Calvin College and Seminary)
- Calvinism Resources Database Articles, essays, and lectures dealing with John Calvin and Calvinism from the 16th century to the present
Karl Barth
Karl Barth and the Making of Evangelical Theology by
Swiss theologian Karl Barth traveled to the United States only once during his long career. In 1962, newly retired, he came to visit family and to deliver a series of lectures subsequently published (by Eerdmans) as Evangelical Theology: An Introduction, which remains in print and widely read to this day. Besides recounting some delightful and poignant biographical details about Barth?s two-month journey through the States, the authors of this book revisit central themes in Barth?s mature theology and explore the theological and ethical significance of his Evangelical Theology. Even more, the distinguished scholars contributing to this volume assess contemporary North American theology and show how Barth?s Evangelical Theology remains as bracing, powerful, and relevant today as it was fifty years ago. Contributors: David W. Congdon Jessica DeCou Hans-Anton Drewes Kevin W. Hector George Hunsinger Cambria Janae Kaltwasser Gerald McKenny Daniel L. Migliore Adam Neder Peter J. Paris Katherine Sonderegger
Call Number: 230.044 B2842 K186ISBN: 9780802872357Publication Date: 2015-01-15
The Oxford Handbook of Karl Barth by ISBN: 0199689784Publication Date: 2020-02-17Karl Barth (1886-1968) is generally acknowledged to be the most important European Protestant theologian of the twentieth century, a figure whose importance for Christian thought compares with that of Augustine, Thomas Aquinas, John Calvin, Martin Luther, and Friedrich Schleiermacher. Authorof the Epistle to the Romans, the multi-volume Church Dogmatics, and a wide range of other works - theological, exegetical, historical, political, pastoral, and homiletic - Barth has had significant and perduring influence on the contemporary study of theology and on the life of contemporarychurches. In the last few decades, his work has been at the centre of some of the most important interpretative, critical, and constructive developments in in the fields of Christian theology, philosophy of religion, and religious studies.The Oxford Handbook of Karl Barth is the most expansive guide to Barth's work published to date. Comprising over forty original chapters, each of which is written by an expert in the field, the Handbook provides rich analysis of Barth's life and context, advances penetrating interpretations of thekey elements of his thought, and opens and charts new paths for critical and constructive reflection. In the process, it seeks to illuminate the complex and challenging world of Barth's theology, to engage with it from multiple perspectives, and to communicate something of the joyful nature oftheology as Barth conceived it. It will serve as an indispensable resource for undergraduates, postgraduates, academics, and general readers for years to come.
Wiley Blackwell Companion to Karl Barth by ISBN: 1119156602Publication Date: 2019-12-31The most comprehensive scholarly survey of Karl Barth's theology ever published Karl Barth, arguably the most influential theologian of the 20th century, is widely considered one of the greatest thinkers within the history of the Christian tradition. Readers of Karl Barth often find his work both familiar and strange: the questions he considers are the same as those Christian theologians have debated for centuries, but he often addresses these questions in new and surprising ways. The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Karl Barth helps readers understand Barth's theology and his place in the Christian tradition through a new lens. Covering nearly every topic related to Barth's life and thought, this work spans two volumes, comprising 66 in-depth chapters written by leading experts in the field. Volume One explores Barth's dogmatic theology in relation to traditional Christian theology, provides historical timelines of Barth's life and works, and discusses his significance and influence. Volume Two examines Barth's relationship to various figures, movements, traditions, religions, and events, while placing his thought in its theological, ecumenical, and historical context. This groundbreaking work: Places Barth into context with major figures in the history of Christian thought, presenting a critical dialogue between them Features contributions from a diverse team of scholars, each of whom are experts in the subject Provides new readers of Barth with an introduction to the most important questions, themes, and ideas in Barth's work Offers experienced readers fresh insights and interpretations that enrich their scholarship Edited by established scholars with expertise on Barth's life, his theology, and his significance in Christian tradition An important contribution to the field of Barth scholarship, the Wiley Blackwell Companion to Karl Barth is an indispensable resource for scholars and students interested in the work of Karl Barth, modern theology, or systematic theology.
The Cambridge Companion to Karl Barth by Call Number: 230.044092 (INTERNET)ISBN: 0521585600Publication Date: 2000-10-05This authoritative book introducing Karl Barth is written by leading scholars of his work, drawn from Europe and North America. They offer challenging yet accessible accounts of the major features of Barth's theological work, especially as it has become available through the publication of his collected works, and interact with the very best of contemporary Barth scholarship. The contributors also assess Barth's significance for contemporary constructive theology, and his place in the history of twentieth-century Christian thought. The Companion both sums up and extends recent renewed interest in Barth's theology, especially in English-speaking theology, and shows him to be once again a major voice in constructive theology.
Websites
- Calvinism Resources Database Articles, essays, and lectures dealing with John Calvin and Calvinism from the 16th century to the present
- Neo-Calvinism Research Institute Contains Bibliographies and digitized papers of Herman Bavinck and Abraham Kuyper
Journal Article Databases
- Atla Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. The fact that many publishers solicit the inclusion of their journals in ATLA RDB is indicative of the stature it has achieved in the community of religion scholars.
- AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) for Alum This link opens in a new window
Full Text. Covers Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
(Alumni/ae -- Click here for exciting news about database and ejournal access for you)