Digital Repository @ WTS
A digital archive of Western Theological Seminary's history.
Cook Library
Western Theological Seminary
101 E 13th St
Holland, MI 49423
616.392.8555
Purchase a Book for
Be certain you select "Wish List Acquisitions' Gift Registry Address"
Font Size
Search Box - English
Resources for the Writing Process | Recursos para el Proceso de Escritura
- Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Available for Mac, Windows and Linux.
- Turabian Citation GuideTurabian Quick Guide / University of Chicago
- Chicago Manual of StyleQuick guide to footnote and bibliography formats
- Manual de estilo Chicago DeustoGuía breve de estilo Chicago (Deusto)
- APA Style GuideAPA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, precise, and inclusive manner.
- MLA Citation StyleMLA (Modern Languages Association) Citation Style (UW-Madison)
- Writing the Research PaperA Companion Website
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)Excellent resource for advice on the entire writing process.
- Paraphrasing, Summarising & QuotingDescribes when and how to paraphrase, summarize, and quote -- University of New South Wales
- Avoiding Plagiarismfrom Purdue University OWL
- DeepL TranslateThe free version of DeepL Translate
- Translate up to 1,500 characters
- Translate 3 locked documents/month
- 10 glossary entries
- Advice on Academic WritingAdvice for the entire writing process, includes a special section for writers of English as a second language -- from the University of Toronto
Improving Reading and Learning Skills | Mejorando las Habilidades de Lectura Y Aprendizaje
- Foundation for Critical ThinkingThe "Fundamentals of Critical Thinking"
How to read a book by
With half a million copies in print, How to Read a Book is the best and most successful guide to reading comprehension for the general reader, completely rewritten and updated with new material. A CNN Book of the Week: "Explains not just why we should read books, but how we should read them. It's masterfully done." -Farheed Zakaria Originally published in 1940, this book is a rare phenomenon, a living classic that introduces and elucidates the various levels of reading and how to achieve them--from elementary reading, through systematic skimming and inspectional reading, to speed reading. Readers will learn when and how to "judge a book by its cover," and also how to X-ray it, read critically, and extract the author's message from the text. Also included is instruction in the different techniques that work best for reading particular genres, such as practical books, imaginative literature, plays, poetry, history, science and mathematics, philosophy and social science works. Finally, the authors offer a recommended reading list and supply reading tests you can use measure your own progress in reading skills, comprehension, and speed.
Call Number: 028 A237 2014ISBN: 9781476790152Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Electronic Book Resources
The Craft of Research, Fourth Edition by
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers. Over 700,000 copies sold Every step of the academic research process, from the "why" of research through forming the research question, formulating an argument, and revision Helpful chapters on research ethics, formulation of writing assignments for teachers, and an appendix of research tools for both off and online Clear advice on building a strong argument in an age of false claims Careful attention to both the how and why of objective research-based writing Easy to follow, time-tested advice A must-have for any college or graduate student
Call Number: 001.42 B725 2016ISBN: 9780226239736Publication Date: 2016-10-18
Writing Better Essays by Call Number: 808.042 (INTERNET)ISBN: 9789627707790Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Everyone Can Write by
With Writing without Teachers (OUP 1975) and Writing with Power (OUP 1995) Peter Elbow revolutionized the teaching of writing. His process method--and its now commonplace "free writing" techniques--liberated generations of students and teachers from the emphasis on formal principles of grammar that had dominated composition pedagogy. This new collection of essays brings together the best of Elbow's writing since the publication of Embracing Contraries in 1987. The volume includes sections on voice, the experience of writing, teaching, and evaluation. Implicit throughout is Elbow's commitment to humanizing the profession, and his continued emphasis on the importance of binary thinking and nonadversarial argument. The result is a compendium of a master teacher's thought on the relation between good pedagogy and good writing; it is sure to be of interest to all professional teachers of writing, and will be a valuable book for use in composition courses at all levels.
Call Number: 808.04207 (INTERNET)ISBN: 0195104153Publication Date: 2000-01-27
The handbook of academic writing : a fresh approach by
The Handbook of Academic Writing offers practical advice to busy academics who want, and are often required, to integrate writing into their working lives. It defines what academic writing is, and the process of getting started through to completion, covering topics such as: Gaining momentum Reviewing and revising Self-discipline Writing regularly Writers' groups and retreats Academic writing is one of the most demanding tasks that all academics and researchers face. In some disciplines there is guidance on what is needed to be productive, successful writers; but in other disciplines there is no training, support or mentoring of any kind. This book helps those in both groups not only to improve their writing skills and strategies, but, equally importantly, to find satisfaction in engaging in regular and productive writing. Underpinned by a diverse range of literature, this book addresses the different dimensions of writing. The fresh approach that Murray and Moore explore in this book includes developing rhetorical knowledge, focusing on writing behaviours and understanding writing contexts. This book will help writers in academic contexts to develop a productive writing strategy, not only for research monitoring exercises, but also for the long term.
Call Number: 808.06637 (INTERNET)ISBN: 0335230075Publication Date: 2006-01-01
How to write critical essays : a guide for students of literature by
This invaluable book offers the student of literature detailed advice on the entire process of critical essay writing, from first facing the question right through to producing a fair copy for final submission to the teacher.
Call Number: 808.0668 (INTERNET)ISBN: 0203407563Publication Date: 2002-09-11
How to Write by
How to Write is an introductory guide to writing, aimed at people who think they can't write, or for whom writing is an ordeal. Broken down into short topic-based chapters on everything from beginning to revising, it demystifies the writing process by taking the reader through each stage necessary to bring a piece of writing to a decent finish. The book also offers a wealth of invaluable practical considerations, including when and where to write, when to printout and when to edit onscreen, what type of pen works well for revisions, and the hazards of the paperclip. The author is a seasoned writer whose encouraging but uncompromising guidance will delight as well as instruct. Offering practical advice in a lucid, no-nonsense style, How to Write will be ideal for both students and professional people who need to write during the course of their work. Topic areas include: #65533; How to begin, including prep work, producing drafts, and making outlines #65533; Sentence construction, including word order, punctuation, and use of metaphors #65533; Paragraph construction, including types of paragraphs, readability, and size reduction #65533; Tips on research and using reference works
ISBN: 0199278504Publication Date: 2007-04-16
How to Write a Thesis by
"This book has become a trusted resource for students from a wide range of disciplinarybackgrounds. Not only does it take you through the steps and stages of thesis writing,but more importantly, it offers rich advice and support that helps build confidence,sets up effective writing habits and generates a positive orientation towards thecomplex task of thesis writing." Professor Sarah Moore, Associate Vice President Academic,University of Limerick, Ireland "I've found Rowena's shrewd and insightful suggestions for writing helpful, not onlyfor others but also for me." Peter Elbow, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA "This book is a brilliant resource for all doctoral students to help guide them through the completion of their doctoral thesis. The book develops students' confidence and motivates them to start the writing process." Emma Jackson,Second Year PhD Student, University of Worcester, UK Providing down-to-earth guidance to help students shape their theses, Rowena Murray offers valuable advice and practical tips and techniques. Useful summaries and checklists help students to stay on track or regain their way. Moving beyond the basics of thesis writing, the book introduces practical writing techniques such as freewriting, generative writing and binge writing. Issues such as working out the criteria for your thesis, writer's block, writing a literature review and making notes into a draft are also covered. New to this edition: New introduction by students - 'How I used this book' Update on doctoral skills set and Training Needs Analysis Extended treatment of plagiarism - and how to avoid it Expanded section on students' well-being Learning outcomes for each chapter
ISBN: 0335244289Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Style Manuals and Research Guides (Books in Cook Library) | Manuales de Estilo y Guías de Investigación (Libros en la Biblioteca de Cook)
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: R 808.02 U58 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05The seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Call Number: R 808.02 T929 2018ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today’s students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations—also known as “Turabian”—remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago’s two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Call Number: R 808.02 M685 2008ISBN: 9780873522977Style Manual for the Modern Language Association
The SBL Handbook of Style by Call Number: R 808.02 S276ISBN: 158983965XPublication Date: 2014-09-01The definitive source for how to write and publish in the field of biblical studies The long-awaited second edition of the essential style manual for writing and publishing in biblical studies and related fields includes key style changes, updated and expanded abbreviation and spelling-sample lists, a list of archaeological site names, material on qur’anic sources, detailed information on citing electronic sources, and expanded guidelines for the transliteration and transcription of seventeen ancient languages. Features: Expanded lists of abbreviations for use in ancient Near Eastern, biblical, and early Christian studies Information for transliterating seventeen ancient languages Exhaustive examples for citing print and electronic sources
An Introduction to Theological Research by Call Number: R 230.072 B234 2000ISBN: 0761816593Detailed list of theological reference works and how to use them
The Seminary Student Writes by Call Number: R 808.02 C797ISBN: 0827234473Practical advice on writing seminary research papers
The Elements of Style by Call Number: R 808 S927 2000ISBN: 9780205309023Classic work on improving your writing
The Chicago Guide to Grammar, Usage, and Punctuation by
Few people can write on the English language with the authority of Bryan A. Garner. The author of The Chicago Manual of Style's popular "Grammar and Usage" chapter, Garner explains the vagaries of English with absolute precision and utmost clarity. With The Chicago Guide to Grammar, Usage, and Punctuation, he has written the definitive guide for writers who want their prose to be both memorable and correct. Throughout the book Garner describes standard literary English--the forms that mark writers and speakers as educated users of the language. He also offers historical context for understanding the development of these forms. The section on grammar explains how the canonical parts of speech came to be identified, while the section on syntax covers the nuances of sentence patterns as well as both traditional sentence diagramming and transformational grammar. The usage section provides an unprecedented trove of empirical evidence in the form of Google Ngrams, diagrams that illustrate the changing prevalence of specific terms over decades and even centuries of English literature. Garner also treats punctuation and word formation, and concludes the book with an exhaustive glossary of grammatical terms and a bibliography of suggested further reading and references. The Chicago Guide to Grammar, Usage, and Punctuation is a magisterial work, the culmination of Garner's lifelong study of the English language. The result is a landmark resource that will offer clear guidelines to students, writers, and editors alike.
Call Number: 428.2 (INTERNET)ISBN: 9780226188850Publication Date: 2016-05-16
Writing Theologically by Call Number: 220.6 (INTERNET)ISBN: 9781451496598Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Writing theology well : a rhetoric for theological and biblical writers by
In its creative integration of the disciplines of writing, rhetoric, and theology, Writing Theology Well provides a standard text for theological educators engaged in the teaching and mentoring of writing across the theological curriculum. As a theological rhetoric, it will also encourage excellence in theological writing in the public domain by helping to equip students for their wider vocations as writers, preachers, and communicators in a variety of ministerial and professional contexts.
Call Number: R 808.066 Y12ISBN: 9780826418845Publication Date: 2006-11-24
