Recursos Bilingües-Gratis / Publicaciones académicas

Multi-disciplinary aggregator of peer-reviewed Open Access journals and papers, "gold" and "hybrid".

Promoting access to African research.

- 1979 to current
- Over 1,900,000 citations

- access to U.S. resources on HIV/AIDS clinical research, treatment, prevention, drugs & vaccines, and medical practice guidelines

- provides access to some of LC collection, including a large quantity of digitized primary source material

Search holdings of over 800 Canadian archives

- provides "free access to a searchable database of journal articles from over 600 scholarly journals published in Finland from 1990 onwards"
- includes areas of the sciences, social sciences and humanities

- includes a list of Reference texts e.g. Familiar Quotations, Roget's International Thesaurus, Bible (King James version), Anatomy of the Human Body (Gray's), Robert's Rules of Order, etc.

- access to over 5,000 journals, some in full text

- brief biographies of deceased members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

- provides over 203 peer reviewed open access journals in medicine and biology

- includes local news, business stories throughout the U.S.

- browse articles from thousands of trade and general publications

Includes entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, many of which are currently active

Canadian courts, 1763-1978

- from 1976 to present
- indexes both print and electronic publications

- includes Chaucer studies from 1975 to the present

- publishes peer reviewed open access research in chemistry

- current country profiles
- includes history, people, government, economy, military, and industry

- "a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world"

- contains over 220,000 bibliographic records on Antarctica, cold regions science and technology

- provides bibliographies for literature in computer science for journal articles, conferences, and technical papers

- access to several searchable dictionaries

- provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with over 221,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward

- 1966 to current
- Some full text
- Journal and non-journal resources

- provides searching of online patent information. See the Help Index for coverage and search fields

Includes article citations from 20 newspapers, magazines & journals covering mainly Canadian content (no abstracts or full text)

FreeBMD is an ongoing project, the aim of which is to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the transcribed records.

- records of Forest Service Research publications
- includes some full text

- "to ensure the provision of, and access to, a common, up-to-date and maintained base of quality geospatial data for all of Canada"

- provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives for events, people, or ideas

- provides free access to important federal publications (official versions) e.g. Congressional Bills
- see A-Z Resource List

- electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics from 1850-1950 (full text)

- search over 100 encylopedias and dictionaries

- over 15 million scientific and medical articles, including some full text

 

- an Internet collection of collections on all subject areas

- literature in translation
- works can be searched in original language

- from 1995 to current
- provides over 58,000 DOE research & development reports in full text in the sciences (physics, chemistry, materials biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer & information science, and renewable energy)

"...digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public."

- list of books, magazines, and newspapers available online for free

- three searchable databases for botanical information: Taxonomic Information, Economic Botany, and Plant Micromorphology

- search for articles in free magazines e.g. cooking, sports

- "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction"

- academic and scientific biomedical journals published in India, including peer reviewed journals
- provides lists for hospitals, physicians, prescription information, clinical trials, etc.

Medical information on over 740 topics, including systems of the body, compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes diagrams and videos.

- includes "newspapers, oral histories, photographs, books, newsletters, legal documents, meeting minutes and other ephemeral materials"

- "connects users to digital media from hundreds of publishers around the world"

- archives of the U.S. government
- provides online exhibits. historical & primary documents

- access to thousands of EPA documents, some in full text, some in citation

High Definition footage and archival treasures from the National Film Board of Canada and partners. "NFB IMAGES features images from around the world: classic and contemporary material on war and conflict, industrialization, rural and urban lifestyles, celebrities, wildlife and a treasure trove of film footage on the Arctic."

Online streaming of documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions. Free for personal use.

Search multiple free databases related to medicine and health

- database of citations to articles about foods, drugs, dyes, and fibers derived from plants and used by Native American peoples

- lists over 25,000 free books by author, title, and subject along with options such as 'Banned Books Online,' Prize Winning Books,' etc.

- "a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource"

- 1986-2000
- Abstracts of demographic literature worldwide

Bibliographic database for primatology

- free full text electronic book collection

U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature

- from 1960 to current
- provides over 500,000 bibliogrpahic records concerning tranportation research published in books, journals, and reports

- gateway to science information provided by U.S. government agencies

- scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities published in open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa

Database of open scientific & scholarly literature

- "comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 410 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information"

- includes data for more than 100 sources on all aspects of criminal justice
- includes over 600 data tables

- open access research articles and databases

Census and various statistics for the Canadian population, including community profiles, GDP, unemployment, consumer price index, etc.

- U.S. legislative information on the Internet with full text access to house and senate bills and reports

- the primary source for US Census records

- direct online access to federal government documents e.g. Bill of Rights, Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Abraham Lincoln papers, USA Constitution, etc.

- allows searching of bibliographic information (e.g. titles, inventors, assignees, class codes, references)

- allows searching of data (e.g. titles, owners, relevant dates) back to 1984

100,000+ vintage advertisements to explore. Images in .jpg format.

- search the WAVES database for books, reports, government documents, theses, conference proceedings and journal titles

Database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Selected national and provincial industry coverage, specifically for Canada and Alberta